RSS

The good with the bad…

31 Aug

I went on vacation a couple of weeks ago, and haven’t posted since before then, as work and life got a little crazy. So, this post will be a little longer than normal as I have some catching up to do.

Vacation Report…
We spent 4 days in the Smokey Mountains. While we had an awesome time, I was very glad to get back home so that I could start eating healthily again! I ended up not being able to follow the Boot Camp eating plan while there.

I swear, they have no idea what vegetables or fruits are in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, TN. The only veggies I ever saw on the menus were corn and potatoes, which are not allowed on the Meltdown. I did find green beans once, but they were swimming in butter and big chunks of fatty pork. The only fruit the restaurants had were bananas, again not part of he Meltdown. I found a vegetable soup at one restaurant that had carrots in it and was so excited! LOL Of course, it was served with a “double-decker grilled cheese sandwich”.

Most of the restaurants there are all-you-can-eat buffets with fried chicken, BBQ, french fries and tons of sweets. It was so difficult to try to eat right. If I had the capital, I’d open an organic vegetarian restaurant down there! They totally need one.

I did splurge and enjoyed some things I wouldn’t normally, like sweet tea and ice cream once. But, I felt like I needed to detox to get all the fat and salt out of my system when I got back! My ankles actually swelled up one day because I was eating so much salt I wasn’t used to.

I have to say, when we were in Gatlinburg, I was saddened at the large number of SEVERELY obese folks that I saw. Considering the food served there, it’s not surprising, though.

Luckily, we did a heck of a lot of walking and hiking in the mountains on some steep trails, so I did keep to my exercise schedule. I had to weigh-in 2 days after we got back. Not surprisingly, I had a gain of 3 pounds.  BUT…I had lost another inch off my waist over the previous 2 weeks and I lost 4% body fat over the previous 4 weeks.  So, that weight gain was due to all the salt and bad food from vacation.

Since vacation…
Two days after I got back, I had a root canal and a filling done at the same time. So, eating was a bit of a problem. I was not able to eat much for a day. And, it seems that since then, my motivation and determination has been waning.

Last week was the start of phase 3 of the Meltdown Boot Camp. And, I’ve been struggling to follow the food plan as it’s gotten more restrictive and takes a hell of a lot of time to plan. It requires a lot of protein shakes, too, which I REALLY don’t like. I spent the weekend at a music festival and REALLY hated having to follow this food plan. It was SO not easy in that environment.

Also, the amount of exercise we’re supposed to get in has increased. Last week I worked really hard to meet the goals, but this week it’s a struggle. Every day this week I haven’t wanted to get out of bed in the morning. Monday I did an evening workout class to make up for it, but yesterday was a total wash with exercise.  Today, I had an internal struggle as I laid in bed for about an hour. But, I finally made myself get up and use my Treadclimber for 40 minutes. And, I’m glad, I did. I have a lot more energy today.

I’m wondering if the 6th week of this program is as hard for everyone else. I guess I’m getting bored and the ‘newness’ is wearing off? I have only 2 more weeks to go after this, so I’m going to stick it out. But, I’m not expecting a great weigh-in this Sunday because of the struggles these 2 weeks.

But, it hasn’t been all bad…
As I said, even during vacation I lost inches and body fat, so I’m very happy there.

But, I have also been noticing some serious muscle definition in my body that wasn’t there before I started the Boot Camp. Here’s a picture taken of my husband and me during our vacation (we were on our way to go zip lining):

It’s not the most flattering, but you know what the first thing I noticed when I saw it? Look at my right armpit area (ignore that you can see part of my bra…obviously it’s time to get smaller shirts–another good thing LOL). Those are muscles, my friends! MUSCLES! I’ve never seen muscles like that there before!

Here’s another picture from our vacation:

This is probably one of the first pictures of me in shorts that my immediate reaction was NOT “ewwww….look how fat my legs are!” Actually, I saw this and thought, “hmmm…my legs look thinner!?”

And, speaking of legs, I got an awesome compliment on them from a total stranger while I was at the music festival this past weekend. I was wearing shorts (again something I used to NEVER do…I always wore skirts or capris), and a girl came up to me and said “You have amazing legs!” I must have given her a weird look and she said, “No, I’m serious. Your legs are so strong!”

I have never, ever, ever been told I have amazing legs before. 🙂 🙂 🙂

So, even though I’m struggling through it this week, I do see that there are benefits. And, I am going to stick with it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2011 in Health

 

2 responses to “The good with the bad…

  1. Jessica

    August 31, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    That is so inspiring! Honestly, I figured out I simply can’t progress to the step 3 nutritional plan …. I kept forgetting what day I was on on the second phase, so there was NO WAY I could keep up with phase 3. I’m just going back to the beginning and doing phase 1 then phase 2 to finish off the 2 months. I’m still losing, but it’s definitely not the dramatic decrease I saw the first two weeks. You are doing awesome, and it’s great to see that you’re happier with your strength and muscle tone–those are the two things I’ve been so impressed with about myself too. Amazing how those HICs and tabatas help!

     
  2. Allison Cooke

    September 1, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    You look HOT in that second picture! Your legs DO look awesome! Keep up the hard work!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
