RSS

Earned Day

08 Aug

So, weigh-in day was Sunday. After my first two weeks on the Meltdown Boot Camp, I lost 7.4 pounds and 2.5 inches off my stomach!!

WOW 🙂  That’s over 3 and a half pounds a week. My average is usually about a half pound a week. I am VERY pleased with this!

After weigh-in, it was ‘cheat day’, as everyone in the program calls it. It’s what it sounds like…you can eat anything you want all day.  I was talking about it with my husband and he made a very astute observation–calling it a “cheat day” makes it sound like something bad and is not really truthful. Since you’re allowed to have anything you want, you’re not really cheating.  He suggested calling it my “Earned Day”, since I earned a break after being so strict for 2 weeks.  I like it! So, I will call it my “Earned Day” from now on. 🙂

I started my Earned Day at Starbucks with a full-fat, full-sugar latte and slice of a baked good. Then, we went to a local restaurant that had a Sunday Brunch. I wasn’t expecting it, but the buffet included items that were less-bad than I expected–they had only turkey bacon instead of the real stuff; their gravy for biscuits and gravy was NOT sausage based, and there was a lot of fresh fruit.  I found that my stomach has shrunk because I had only one plate, whereas in the past I usually made multiple trips to buffets. I also kept to my 3-bite rule* that I practice at buffets when I don’t want to over eat, even though this time I didn’t care if I overate. But, since I wanted to try so many different things, and I felt myself getting full, I figured that was the best strategy to try as many different dishes as I could.

After brunch, we actually burned a few calories by going for a 4.5 mile bike ride! I wasn’t planning to exercise on my day off, but my hubby and I haven’t been riding much due to the excessive heat, and when he suggested we ride in the morning while it was still cool, I couldn’t say no.

I probably burned some more calories when I spent the next several hours cleaning my house. But, then I nullified all of that by going to Mother Bear’s and gorging on pizza and garlic bread with cheese.  Hey, it was Earned Day, so I feel no guilt and I enjoyed every last bite.  Mmmmmmm, Mother Bear’s!!

But, this morning, my tummy sure didn’t feel all that great! Luckily, that didn’t last too long! I’ve also been rather thirsty all day, and since I didn’t track my water intake yesterday, I’m sure I didn’t have enough, as well as had waaaaaaaay too much salt. I still managed to get up at 4:30am so I could be in an exercise class at 6am, and I’ve been sticking to the Phase 2 menu that started today with no problems.

I’m also making today a double-exercise day. In addition to this morning’s class, I’m doing another one after work. It’s one of the suggestions in the program, though not a requirement. I know I don’t have time to exercise more than once a day on most days, but I do have that time today, and I’m so encouraged by the results of the first 2 weeks that I’m willing to give it a try.  I’ve given myself permission to take tomorrow off of exercise if I need to (if I’m too sore), also. But, if I’m not too sore, I’ll be hitting the gym in the morning.

Part of the reason is we’re going on vacation next week and I’m not sure how much exercise I’ll be able to get in. I hope to use the gym at the hotel, but I’ve said that many times before and haven’t done it. So, just in case, I’m going to get as much exercise in this week as I can.

I’m also trying to psych myself up to eat according to the Meltdown plan while on vacation as well. But, that’s a post for another day…

* My 3-bite rule was stolen from a Weight Watcher meeting many years ago. Basically, whenever I go to a buffet, I allow myself to have anything I want from it, but only 3 bites because those are the most flavorful. After that, the taste diminishes. This helps you enjoy the food more, as well as control portions.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 8, 2011 in Health

 

One response to “Earned Day

  1. Allison Cooke

    August 9, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Yay! Congrats on your first weigh in! Good luck on your vacation! Remember to enjoy yourself!

     

Leave a Reply

 
