RSS

I’m melting (I hope!)

03 Aug

It’s been almost a year and a half since I’ve posted to this blog. D’oh!

Perhaps I was lazy. Perhaps I was busy. Perhaps I just didn’t have anything to blog about. I don’t know. But, it doesn’t matter. Because I’m back. And, I think I’ve got something to blog about now that will produce posts on a more regular basis.

(Side note: I’ve changed the template for this blog, so it looks quite a bit different, if anyone happens to remember it LOL I figure it’s kind of like a fresh start. But, all my old content is still here–not that there was much of it anyway.)

What is it I want to blog about? Well, anyone who knows me or looks through the archives of this blog will see that I’m a professional at losing (and gaining) weight. For most of my life, I have lost, gained, lost, gained, lost…you get the picture.

About a week and a half ago, I started a new effort at getting the weight off again. Over the past 10 days while focusing on this new effort, I’ve frequently thought something, then thought “I should blog about that!” So, that’s what I’m going to do.

A quick history: I’ve been overweight and/or obese for almost as long as I can remember, and I’ve been trying to lose weight (and regaining it) for almost as long as that. From 2003 – 2006, I finally saw success and lost 107 pounds by following the Weight Watchers program. I maintained that weight for about a year until I started grad school full time while still working full time. In the 2 years I was in grad school, I gained pretty much all of what I lost back. So, I began anew when I finished grad school in May, 2009. I managed to lose 40 pounds over the next 2 years on my own (no more Weight Watchers for me) by exercising and tracking my food on SparkPeople. But, over the past few months, I started gaining again. My total loss is now at 37 pounds.

I have a coworker who lost 30 pounds, and I’ve been impressed with her results. So, a couple months ago I asked her what she was doing and she told me a little about a program she was following that was developed by a local physical trainer. I did a little research on it and saw that I would have to purchase it and decided I didn’t need to spend the money and would just keep plugging away on my own.

But, I just gained and lost and gained and lost on my own. I was getting really frustrated when that coworker sent me an email inviting me to join her at a free exercise class. So, I took her up on it. I was quite impressed with the class, especially the fact that it was so full at 6am! I revisited the idea about the program she had done and decided to make the plunge.

On Monday, July 25th, I began the “Meltdown Boot Camp” at Next Generation Personal Training & Fitness in Bloomington, IN. And, that’s what you can expect my future blog posts to be about.

I know I’m not a fan of long blog posts, and this one has gotten longer than I wanted, so I’m going to stop there for today. In subsequent posts, I plan to explain a little about what the program is (but I can’t tell you too much about it, as it is copyrighted material) but mostly I think I’ll be describing my experience with and results on it.

Until next time…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I’m melting (I hope!)

  1. Allison Cooke

    August 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Looking forward to how Meltdown goes. I have heard good things about it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
