RSS

Please take my informal poll

06 Feb

I am conducting some informal research for my employer. If you have time, could you please respond to this informal poll in a comment to this post?

Thanks so much! đŸ™‚

QUESTION: Do you use personalized home/start pages, like iGoogle, Netvibes, Pageflakes, MyYahoo, etc.?

If so,
1) Why do you use them? What do you like about them?
2) Is there anything you do not like about them?
3) What other features would you like to see on a personalized home/start page?

If not,
1) Why not? Are there specific things you do not like about them?
2) What would make you start using a personalized home/start page (if anything)?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Please take my informal poll

  1. Adam Sweeny

    February 6, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I do, but one I created myself, which was a terrible idea, because I never update it.

    With tabbed browsing, this is becoming increasingly unnecessary. I have all the pages / news / weather / pages I’m working on come up every time I open a browser.

    Features that would get me on board / make me use it? hmm…

    I can’t think of one. That doesn’t mean that something wouldn’t bring me on board, just that somebody else needs to figure it out, and show me how great it’d be.

     
  2. Aaron H

    February 6, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    NO, because who uses personalized home pages anymore? when I open Firefox it opens all my saved tabs from before. I never see a homepage anymore ever.

     
  3. Nitocris

    February 6, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I use the personalized Google homepage. I like having chat and email and bookmarks, notes and calculator and rss feeds all on one page that way I don’t have to open all of those things up at once. I just log in one time and it’s all there.

     
  4. @maxbeatty

    February 7, 2009 at 1:50 am

    I have iGoogle setup and used it a lot over summer at my internship because they had restrictions on which sites I could visit and it made it easy to check a lot of sites really quickly. But the page gets bogged down easily if you add too many widgets.

    I’ve stopped using it now that I primarily use my personal computer. If I want the weather, I have a dashboard widget. If I want Twitter, I have TweetDeck. If I want news, I open up Google Reader. I’m usually moving at too fast of pace to even glance at my homepage.

     

Leave a Reply

 
