RSS

Goodbye, Interwebs. Hello, Jamcruise!

01 Jan

In just a few minutes, I will be heading out the door for vacation.

My husband and I go to concerts. A LOT. A love of live music is one of the things that brought us together, and throughout our 10+ years together, we’ve seen more shows than I can even begin to guess. Whenever a favorite band (and we have lots of ’em) is playing anywhere within a few hours’ drive, we’re there. And, if they’re not within a few hours’ drive, we might be there, too…If we can arrange for a dogsitter and vacation days.

(Yes, this hobby is one of the main reasons why we do not have children.)

We spent our last vacation in August at a camping festival. And, this vacation is being spent at another music festival. But, this is a different kind of festival. It’s Jamcruise!

We’ll still get to see several of our favorite bands, plus more that are new to us. And, we’ll still get to hang out with awesome, fun people–some new friends, some old friends. But, instead of sleeping a tent on some farm field, we’ll be in a suite on a cruise ship. Instead of eating typical camping food we have to make ourselves, we’ll be served gourmet meals around the clock. Instead of having to dig through ice-filled coolers for beer, we’ll just belly up to the bar. And, instead of staying in one place the whole time, we’ll be provided transportation to two tourists destinations in the Carribbean.

The cruise leaves Ft. Lauderdale on Sunday. But, we begin our traveling today. We’re driving 4 hours north to drop our dog off at my father-in-law’s, then we then fly out at an ungodly hour in the morning and should be in Ft. Lauderdale by tomorrow afternoon.

Hubby and I plan to tour Ft. Lauderdale Saturday until a couple of friends who are going on the cruise with us arrive. We’ll all board the shop together on Sunday and will spend the next 4 days partying our asses off! After the cruise ends hubby and I are going to spend a couple more days in Ft. Lauderdale before flying back, picking up our dog, and driving 4 hours home.

I have decided not to take my laptop. Since there are no classes right now and I’m on vacation from work, I really can’t think of a reason why I should take it with me. I want to spend my free time enjoying tunes, dancing, and relaxing. If by some crazy chance I find myself with absolutely nothing to do, then I will read the new Stephen King book I got for Christmas.

So, goodbye for now, interwebs. See ya in about 12 days. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
