RSS

I’m home and feeding my addiction

24 Dec

The best laid plans of mice and men go awry. Robert Burns

I returned from my girls’ road trip last night. I really wanted to blog during the trip. But, I had no internet access until the very last night.

The first night we stayed in a hotel in Memphis. It was supposed to have WiFi. But, I couldn’t connect. I called the front desk and they told me to call the 800 number listed on the instruction pamphlet. I called that number and got to listen to a recorded message advertising a gay chat line. mmmmmkay. I figured maybe I misdialed and tried again. But, no. It was the recording. So, I gave up and we went to Beale Street.

In AL, we stayed with a friend who did not have the ‘net. I could have gone to coffee shops or whatever to find WiFi. But, honestly, I was having too much fun with my friends to take time away from them to sit in front of my laptop.

There was no ‘net in the hotel in New Orleans, either. The hotel in Chattanooga did have it. So I was able to connect and check for any urgent emails. I also checked my grades (which I’m VERY happy with, by the way! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ) But, that was the last night of our trip, and we got a late start leaving AL. So, when we got to Chattanooga, we only had a couple of hours to get to Rock City before it closed. By the time we got back from there, I was beat and didn’t want to deal with the laptop.

When I got home yesterday, I only pulled out my laptop to show my husband my pictures. I was tired and so happy to see my husband that I didn’t want to blog then, either.

Today, I had to get a crapload of stuff done–unpack, grocery shop, bake for tomorrow, wrap gifts, laundry, etc. So, it’s only now that I am finally able to spend some time on the ‘net. It’s like reconnecting with an old friend. LOL

Email is a little scary. 5 pages to wade through. I’ll save most of that for after Christmas. There’s no way I’ll be able to catch up on tweets, so I’m not even going to try. Same thing with Facebook. Though, while I was gone someone I’ve been looking for for years found me on FB, so I am extremely excited about that!

But, it’s nice to be wired again. Though I don’t regret my break and had an awesome trip, I am glad to be connected to Web 2.0 again.

I am going to blog about my trip. I made notes of things I wanted to write about, and I have a ton pictures. I need to figure out which pictures I want to post and decrease the file size. Plus, I can’t upload right now cuz hubby is hogging the bandwidth to upload his videos to YouTube.

Tomorrow we do Christmas lunch with my sister, mom and stepdad, then dinner with my dad and stepmom. (I turned down an invite to another dinner tonight because I knew I’d need the day to get ready and recoop from the trip.) So, probably won’t get much blogging done.

But, by this weekend, I’ll have an account posted of my trek through 10 states in 8 days.

Until then, Merry Christmas all! πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
