RSS

Free time?!?

13 Dec

I turned in my last paper yesterday. All that’s left to finish out this semester is to write an final exam essay. The prof is supposed to post it this weekend, and he said not to spend more than 2 hours on it. So, after I do that, I’ll be done with Fall 2009!

So, I have found myself with the elusive creature known as “free time”. Last night I spent the evening visiting with my friend, who is also my hairstylist. So, I got in a little me time, friend time, and a touch-up on the ‘do. This morning I slept in for the first time since the semester started. (Ok, so I was up at 7:30, but that’s still better than 6am! My internal alarm clock is purty darn loud and consistent. I haven’t used a real alarm in years. Been getting up at 6am since I entered the workforce in 1994.)

There are things I could – should – be doing right now. There’s a sinkful of dirty dishes, a basket of clean laundry that needs folding, a basket of dirty laundry that needs washing, a cat that needs a bath, etc.

But, those things have always been there for me to do. And, since I don’t have to read any scholarly articles or write any papers or do any research, I can do those chores whenever. I don’t have to try to fit them in.

I have been waaaaay stressed for the past few weeks trying to get everything done for all of my classes (in addition to working my regular 40 hours a week). It’s so nice to finally be able to relax. 🙂

I plan to spend some time writing for pleasure today. I know, I just spent weeks writing my capstone thesis, a research paper, and a phenomenological essay (in addition to usability reports at work). Why on earth would I want to write anything more?

Well, I really love to write. Before I went back to grad school, I blogged and journaled regularly. The whole reason I got an undergraduate degree in journalism was that I loved the writing part. (I just discovered after college that I didn’t like much else about the journalism profession and that I liked working with and on computers much better.) But, for the past year and a half, I haven’t had much time to write about whatever I felt like.

I really want to write up a memorial to the beloved cat I lost about a month ago. That one’s going to be quite emotional, so I’ve been putting it off until I had time to deal with those emotions.

I also want to do some writing about my two upcoming vacations, one of which starts on Tuesday. And, I also plan to blog during those vacations.

Similarly, I’ve done a heck of a lot of reading this past semester…I’ve researched all I could about doulas and social networks and computer-mediated communication, and I’ve read phenomenological and semiotic essays and film critiques (as well as anything I could fit in about usability). But, I am so looking forward to being able to read some fiction!

The vacation that starts Tuesday is a girls’ road trip. I’ll get more into the details in another post, but I’ve ask my traveling companion, who is a literature aficionado, to pick out a couple of her favorite books for me to read while we’re off exploring the country. I told her my only requirements were that it not contain too many big words, it must be pure fiction, and it mustn’t be some cheesy romantic chickbook.

I’m also looking forward to being able to use some of this free time to focus on my health more. I’ve been doing really well for the past month and a half with my food choices. I’m down 10 pounds since Nov. 1st. 🙂 That’s with no exercise, tho. So, I really want to try to get back into that routine.

It’s going to be a little hard with these two vacations and Christmas. But, since there’s really nothing other than household chores I have to do, I don’t really have an excuse not to focus on it, now do I?

So, I think it’s time to stop now, have some breakfast, do the dishes and laundry, and then get on my Treadclimber. . .

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
