RSS

4 days until the JAG

13 Dec

In 4 days, I am going on a road trip with my friend, whose name is also Jenny. We are going to visit Heather, who lives on the Gulf in Alabama. So, I’ve been calling it the Jennies Alabama Getaway (JAG).

I’ve known Jenny for over 13 years. I don’t remember when or exactly how we met. But, back in 1995 I became friends with a local band, and she was dating one of the drummers. We share a love of the same music and have been to several shows and festivals together. We were even roommates for a little while. We’ve had some of the craziest, strangest, and best times together over the years.

Heather is the niece of the drummer Jenny was dating. Tho the drummer and Jenny broke up many years ago, everyone is all still friends. The band is no longer together either, but almost all of them and all of us who hung out with them back in the day are still friends. We get together to go camping or for barbecues or weddings or parties or whatnot whenever we can.

Heather moved to Alabama probably 7 (?) years ago. I’m not positive on that, but it’s been a while. When she left, Jenny and I promised that we’d come visit her. She’s been back up here to visit a few times and we always try to see her when she’s in town. But, Jenny and I have never made it down to visit her.

This summer, Jenny and I made a drunken swear at a 4th of July party that we would go see Heather this year.

So, we leave on Tuesday. It’s about a 15 hour drive down, so we’re splitting it up. On the way down, we’re going to stop in Memphis and hang out on Beale Street Tuesday night. Then, Wednesday morning, before we head out of town, we’re going to go to Graceland LOL

We’ll be at Heather’s Wednesday night and Thursday night. Then, Friday morning, Heather, Jenny and I are driving to New Orleans and spending the night in a hotel that’s a half a block away from Bourbon Street. We drive back to Heather’s on Saturday to see a band she wants us to see that night.

We’ll hang out there until Monday morning. Then, we start back on Monday. We’re stopping in Chattanooga on the way back to check out Rock City and Lookout Mountain. Will be back home the following Tuesday.

Jenny’s hobby is ghost hunting. She’s got a list of all the haunted places in each of the towns we’ll be in. So, we’ll be doing a lot of that. I’m looking forward to it. The hotel we’re staying in in New Orleans is supposed to be haunted, too. LOL

This is going to be mine and Jenny’s fifth road trip together. We went to a music festival the band we hung out with was playing in St. Louis; spent a weekend checking out the cool bookshops and coffee shops and record shops in Asheville, NC; went on a week-long Phish tour; and also a week-long Further Festival tour. We’ve also traveled to several one-night or weekend-only shows and festivals.

I don’t get to see her or the others much anymore. They’re all up in the Indy area, and many have children, and I’m so busy with school and work. The 45-minute distance between me and them does keep us from getting together as much as we used to.

So, I’m really looking forward to being able to spend time with Jenny and Heather. And, Beale Street, Graceland, New Orleans, Rock City and a bunch of haunted places all sound like so much fun!

I do have to give a shout out to my darling hubby, who is staying home with our elderly dog so I can go on this trip. It sucks that I won’t get to see him for a week, especially after I haven’t seen him much lately with the end of the semester and all. So, I am extremely grateful he is being so supportive 🙂 🙂 That’s okay, because a week after I get back from the JAG, he and I will be going on Jamcruise! But, that’s a different post…

I’m going to try to blog about the JAG. Heather doesn’t have ‘net access, but I should get it at the hotels and at Heather’s mom’s. I can also go to a Panera or Starbucks, too. So, watch this space for more info about and pictures from the JAG! Now I’m off to figure out what to pack . . .

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
