RSS

Starting over…again

29 Nov

I have been struggling with weight for a long as I can remember. I was overweight in high school, and grew to be obese in college, about 11 or 12 years ago. Over the years, I tried every diet and even considered bariatric surgery.

My mom, dad, brother, and sister are all overweight or obese. I also have a heredity medical condition, hypothyroidism, that causes weight gain and makes losing weight difficult. I used to think that those obstacles were too hard to overcome, so I never lost more than 20 pounds at a time.

But, in May, 2003, I started Weight Watchers, and not for the first time, either. Yet, that time I stuck with it. And, I made goal by losing 107 pounds by August, 2006 (made Lifetime in September, 2006).

I maintained for about a year, until I started attending grad school full time while continuing to work full time. Then I found myself with no time and lots of stress. As a result, in about a year’s time, I gained back all but 20 pounds of what it took me over three years to lose.

After much self pity and blame, I finally decided it was time to get back on the Weight Watchers wagon. I’ve been doing the program since November 1, and I’ve lost 6.4 pounds in 4 weeks (and 25.6 pounds total, if I count the weight I managed to keep off). Yay!!

That is a true accomplishment, for four reasons: 1) because of my hypothyroidism, I lose very slowly–I average about a half pound a week, so that’s a huge amount for me; 2) I have not really been exercising much at all; 2) during that time I had to bury my beloved, 14-year-old cat, which was very hard emotionally on me; and 4) I celebrated Thanksgiving.

I’m feeling very confident and in control again. I’m going to quit beating myself up for gaining most of it back and instead pat myself on the back for finding the courage and the willpower to start over! 🙂

Now, I need to start working on getting that exercise in regularly!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2008 in Health

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Starting over…again

  1. Diane

    November 29, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Congratulations on your weight loss! You’re back on track.
    I lost 65 pounds about 10 years ago, gained all but 10 pounds back, along the way losing and gaining 20 here and there. I’m back on WW since July and I’m down 28.6 pounds and feel like I can go the distance this time. Get started back on the food first and the exercise will follow. That’s what I found. After a couple of weeks of re-learning how to eat, I started walking, then walking a lot and now I’m at the gym.
    I’m sorry about the loss of your cat as well. We lost our beloved 15-year-old Calvin in September and it was awful. I was very proud that I was able to stay in control of my eating during that time. Being an emotional eater, that was tough.
    You’ve done this before. You can do it again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
