RSS

New Blog, Old Blogger

26 Nov

While this appears to be a new blog, I’m not new to blogging.

About 6 years ago, I blogged regularly about my weight loss efforts. Then, I went back to school as a grad student and two things happened: I fell off the wagon with my weight loss efforts and I was required to blog for my classes. So, since I had nothing to write about regarding weight loss (as I ended up gaining back almost everything I lost) and since I was working full-time while a full-time grad student, I didn’t have time to keep a personal blog anymore.

I’m nearing the end of my third semester, and I’ve begun managing my time a little better, I think, so I’m going to get back to personal blogging. I never really stopped personal blogging, though. If you check out my professional blog (link is over there —> ), you’ll see that many of those posts are actually personal.

I’ve been meaning to create a personal blog for some time now, as I like to keep my personal and professional lives separate as much as possible. And, today I finally did it.

One of the main reasons I want this personal blog is I’m preparing to take two vacations over Christmas Break, and I’d like to document them. My professional blog just doesn’t seem like the right place for it.

On December 16th, I’m going on a girls road trip. My friend, who’s name is also Jenny, and I are going to drive down to the gulf. We have a friend who lives in Alabama that we’ve been promising to visit for years. (We’re calling it our “Alabama Getaway” 😉 On the way there, we’re going to stop in Memphis and check out Beale Street. When we get to Alabama, we’re going to visit there for a few days, then the three of us are going to spend a weekend in the French Quarter in New Orleans. When Jenny and I drive home, we’re stopping in Chattanooga on the way back to SEE RUBY FALLS!!! (LOL). Jenny’s hobby is ghost hunting, so in each of our stops, we’ve got a list of haunted places to go check out.

Then, on January 1st, my husband and I begin our vacation. We’re first driving 4 hours north to drop our dog off at my father-in-laws. Then, we fly to Ft. Lauderdale to spend the weekend there. And, from January 4 – 9, we’ll be on Jam Cruise 7.

For the next 3 weeks, however, I have to try not to think about those things, as I have 2 more term papers to write that I really need to focus on.

Another reason I want a personal blog is that I’ve been trying to get back on the weight loss wagon. I’ve been doing really well for the past 3 weeks. And, when I lost all the weight before, I know a big factor in my success was my journaling about it. (And not just tracking my food intake, but my thoughts, feelings, successes, setbacks, etc.) Again, my professional blog isn’t appropriate for that.

So, anyway, stay tuned…I’ll be posting here as much as a I can.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
